2021

For I know the plans I have for you

“For I know the plans I have for you”, declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future”.

Jeremiah 29:11 (NIV)

Sunday morning I was still reeling from a very bad day on Thursday. I logged into our church service and tried my best to listen to the pastor giving the message. My heart wasn’t in it and I found myself more fixated on a Diamond Art than actually listening to the message. The message was great, I’m sure, but I just wasn’t focusing. Before long I almost felt my Father whisper, “If you’re not going to pay attention, child, how about you check your email instead?” It felt like a gentle parent redirecting a restless toddler. This child knows better (most days) than to ignore Him so to my email I went, albeit somewhat grudgingly.

In my email I found the relentless emails Indeed.com sends me with job openings. I gave up my job a little over a month ago, and during COVID finding one that doesn’t put my family at risk has certainly been a challenge. Mostly I skim through the emails and delete them. Sunday, however, I started to delete it when God said, “Check again, child”. It was then that a specific job opening caught my eye. It was for a position I’m qualified for, in a company where I happen to know someone. I texted my friend and asked what she knew about the position and the conversation went similar to this.

“Hey, I just saw an opening, do you still work there?” (Yep, I’m THAT friend)

“Yes! Are you looking?! We are so short staffed! Apply today and I’ll put in an employee referral and text my boss! You’d be perfect!”

I applied, finished my pre-application testing, and now I wait. I wait for what just might be the perfect position. One meant to prosper me and not harm me. One suggested to me by my Father, who is guiding me into the life He wants for me. One that may help restore my sanity and keep my family and myself safe.

Leave a comment